[This is part of the Buffalo Linkstation Pro Duo NAS Configuration article.]
The Shared Folders Configuration page has two sub-menus:
- Shared Folders Setup, and,
- Services Setup
1) Shared Folders Setup
In this page, you will see a list of existing shared folders and a brief description of each. You can also “add” or “delete” shared folders using the buttons at the bottom of the page.
To edit one of the existing shared folders, click on the name or the icon the folder that you want to edit. This opens up the page where you can edit the settings for that shared folder.
1.1) Editing Shared Folder Settings
- Shared Folder Name: This is the name by which the share appears on the network, e.g. in Windows Network Neighborhood. You can put a meaningful name like Pics.
- Shared Folder Description: This is a brief description to let the users know what this share is for.
- Volume: This indicates the disk array volume on which the shared folder resides. For RAID-1 setting, this will just be RAID Array 1.
- Shared Folder Support: You can choose support for Windows network, Apple network, FTP and for Disk Backup. The Disk Backup allows the share to be used as a backup destination from another Linkstation.
- Shared Folder Attibutes: You can select Read Only or Read/Write
- Recycle Bin: You can enable or disable this; if enabled, all the deleted contents will be saved in a recycle bin folder. When you use Linkstation for automated backups with software like Norton Ghost, it is recommended to disable recycle bin for the shared folder where the backup files are stored. This way, when newer backup versions are created, and older one are deleted, the older versions don’t keep getting accumulated in the recycle bin, consuming more and more disk space.
- Remote Backup Password: Password if this share is selected for remote backups.
- Access Restrictions: You can enable or disable access restrictions. If enabled, you can set access permissions (read/write, read-only or none) on a per-group or per-user basis.
2) Services Setup
In this menu, you can enable or disable Network Sharing Services, viz., AppleTalk Protocol and FTP Server.